Wild Things, I Think I Love You

September 19, 2009 at 3:19 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , )

tye_webbannerSpike Jonze’s film adaptation of Maurice Sendak’s “Where The Wild Things Are” reaches theaters in October.  Meanwhile, in Alhambra, CA, Gallery Nucleus is hosting “Terrible Yellow Eyes”, a collection of works inspired by Sendak’s classic, as created by Cory Godbey and other artists.  Godbey writes, I’m fairly inarticulate when talking about the things I love most, especially the art of Maurice Sendak, and in particular his masterpiece, Where the Wild Things Are.  And that’s why I turn to pictures. I can let the drawings do the talking for me and I find that I can say visually what I mean, and express what I love.”

Click here to visit the Terrible Yellow Eyes site.

Gregory Maguire, who adapted L. Frank Baum’s creation of the Wicked Witch of the West to his own book, Wicked, has just released his tribute to Sendak in the publication, Making Mischief: A Maurice Sendak Appreciation.

The film adaptation opens October 16th.

Leave a Reply

